cabfe

Any advice on starting with Visual Novels?

51 posts in this topic

Hello everyone,

Since there is a lot of people here who are in the VN world since many years ago, what title(s) would you recommend to someone who hasn't touch any?

What should they read, for starters?

I suppose it also depends a lot on what kind of stories people are into, so it may not be that easy to say. I'm kinda new to this too, so I can't really tell which is a good starting choice to people around me.

I've played SC2VN (available for free on Steam) and liked it. Since it deals with gaming (StarCraft 2 in this case) I thought it might be a good starting point with mainstream gamers. What do you think?

Start with something solid, short to keep you interested in the content.

I'd suggest going with Katawa Shoujo as your starting line. 

2 people like this

Hmm, I guess for starters it depends on what they are interested in. Some may start off by just trying out some of the popular VN that's of the genre they are interested in (eg:comedy, mystery, sci-fi).

If for mainstream gamers, maybe they could start off with some games with rich storytelling component (not sure how to properly describe that). Some transitioned into VN through games like Ace Attorney series and Zero Escape series, which have mixture of visual novels with other game mechanics.

1 person likes this

For starters, I can whole heartly recommend pretty much any visual novel created by "Propeller". And while only their Ayakashibito title received a fan translation up to this point, it's well worth playing for those who have a certain weakness for the supernatural.

Utawarerumono and Tears to Tiara are another couple of visual novels that beginners tend to love. Both also do have a fan translation out there.

1 person likes this